Edition of Duarte Lobo’s “Asperges me”

The edition of the antiphon Asperges me by Portuguese composer Duarte Lobo (c.1564-1646), which I prepared for Edições MPMP is now available at the website, the number 23 in the Polyphonia series. This, I think, is probably the first edition of this work, the firs of – I hope – several editions on the 1621 Liber Missarum. The work is set for four voices (SATB) and it was published in the 1621 Liber Missarum, printed in Antwerp at the Officina Plantiniana.

This is quite an interesting work of how Lobo works the plainchant melodies into polyphony, adding very beautiful melodic lines to each of the four parts. In this edition original note values were kept and the work was transposed down a minor third from the original pitch. I hope to record this soon with my group Ensemble Eborensis.

Preview available at academia.edu

Sheet music available at Edições MPMP

Leave a comment

