Fernando Lopes Graça • Piano Concertos N.º 1 and 2

Graça-Piano-Concertos 1 and 2“The music of Fernando Lopes-Graça, one of the most significant Portuguese composers of the twentieth-century, went through several phases of development. Though rooted in folk music, it absorbed influences not only from much earlier composers such as Scarlatti and Seixas, but from contemporaries such as Bartók. These influences are potent in the Piano Concerto N.º 1 of 1940, a highly personal, atmospheric and superbly orchestrated work imbued with bittersweet romanticism.

Though the Iberian Baroque permeates its finale, the Piano Concerto N.º 2 is a much darker and more ambivalent work, marking a new milestone in his development.” – Ivan Moody

Piano Concerto N.º 1 (1940)
1. Allegro moderato
2. Andante
3. Allegro non troppo
Piano Concerto N.º 2 (1950, rev. 1971)
4. Tempo giusto
5. Andante con moto
6. Vivo quasi cadenza

Eldar Nebolsin, piano
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto – Casa da Música
Matthias Bamert, dir.

Naxos (2013)


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s