Edition of Estêvão Lopes Morago’s Christmas Responsories

Sheet MusicThis is the edition I prepared for the Polyphonia series (by Edições MPMP) in 2012 with the set of Christmas responsories by composer Estêvão Lopes Morago (c.1575 to c.1630). The eight responsories are all for four voices (SATB) with most of the verses for three voices (SAT). This work is the number 6 of the Polyphonia series, edited by Movimento Patrimonial pela Música Portuguesa, and the third number containing works by Morago (first one was the Te Deum in n.º 4 and n.º 5 with five-voice motets for Advent).

These responsories, togeher with several motets for the Sundays of Advent (in Polyphonia 5), are lively works, contrasting with the composer’s more heavily emotions present in his Lent and Holy Week works. The first responsory, (Hodie nobis caelorum), the third (Quem vidistis Pastores?) ad the eight (Verbum caro factum est) are particularly joyful works full of brightness. Morago’s responsories are preserved in the so-called Livro da Coresma (P-Va Ms 3), which includes music for the entire Liturgical year besides Lent.

A preview of this edition is available at academia.edu


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s