Coro Odyssea, November 3-4

I Ciclo de Encontros Corais em Terras do Infante 2012This weekend I’ll be in Lagos (Algarve) with Coro Odyssea, in the XXXVI Festival de Coros do Algarve, integrated in the I Ciclo de Encontros Corais em Terras do Infante. We will be singing works by Victoria, Brahms, Carrapatoso and Côrte-Real in two concerts, being the first one this evening (21:30) at Luz Church (near Praia da Luz) and the second is tomorrow at 16:00 in Igreja das Freiras, Lagos.

This is a special weekend for several reasons. First of all its firs collaboration with Coro Odyssea, the first of many I hope. Second, I’m going to sing one of my favorite polyphonic works, Tomás Luis de Victoria’s O Magnum Mysterium, a “hit” of polyphony and one of the works that brought me to become a musicologist. And last, to see the wonderful Algarvian sea. I live near the sea but I never see it… this jungle of buildings is so stressfull. So, three arguments to spend a great weekend.

Program

Tomas L. de Victoria – O Magnum Mysterium
Thomas Tallis – If Ye Love Me
Michael Praetorium – Est ist Ein Ros Entsprungen
Lars Edlund – Körstudier
Johannes Brahms – Sieben Lieder Op. 62
Nuno Côrte-Real – Quatro Canções Açoreanas
Eurico Carrapatoso – Timor et Non Tremor

Leave a comment

